top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeg Carswell

More Than What Meets the Eye

Though I may seem quiet and shy,

I am more than what meets the eye.

Injustice was done to me

That robbed me of my voice

But that does not lessen my value

His decision was not my choice.

I am fierce and strong,

So come near and listen to my song.


The winds might wisp and howl

For there is a monster on the prowl.

Hungry for flesh

He ripped and ravaged

Drool dripped down his twisted face

His fierce actions, savage.

That day he came like a beast,

And settled on me for a feast.


I was innocently drawn to his lair,

Where his actions left me gasping for air.

In response I laid there and froze

Paralyzed in confusion and fear

He gripped me tightly

And whispered words of disgust in my ear.

I shrunk, becoming insignificant and shallow

His words left me feeling small and hollow.


I responded to pain with more pain

It was all I could do to remain sane.

Dissociating became my saving grace

I could disappear and forget

I could leave the moment without leaving a trace

No one would know my mind had escaped.

Tormentors were inside my mind raiding

I was alive but slowly fading.


Through release and recovery, I am slowly awakening now

There are more monsters, but to them, I do not bow.

Pieces of me may have been stolen

But my once quivery voice is getting stronger

I will not back down because

He does not have control any longer.

My story is being rewritten, it is not finished

This is not the end, I will not be diminished.


73 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page